Monday, May 7, 2012

Young Women Honored for Service and Leadership

On May 6, 2012 YWCA Clark County honored ten young women from Clark County high schools at its Young Women of Achievement Honoree Tea. Award recipients were recognized for outstanding community service, achievement in academic and volunteer roles, and demonstrated leadership.

Skylar Hoss, Southwest Washington Representative for Governor Gregoire, and Vancouver Mayor Tim Leavitt joined Sherri Bennett, Executive Director, Kelly Walsh, Board President and Megan Vaughn, keynote speaker in congratulating the winners during the second annual Honoree Tea, held this year at the Marshall House. Four recipients received scholarships made possible by the generous support from First Independent, Donna Roberge Scholarship Fund, Soroptimist International of Vancouver, and an anonymous donor.

Award recipients were Hannah Barclay, Miranda Bean, Chelsea Christian, Sabrina Sears, Kaleigh Supe-Klensch and Rebecca Myre. Scholarship award recipients were Annie Baker (Soroptomist International Scholarship), Hannah Chong (First Independent Scholarship), Kaitlyn Lee (Donna Roberge Fund Scholarship), and Eveling Cabello Ramirez (scholarship from anonymous donor).

“Each of the award recipients is immensely talented and dedicated. YWCA Clark County and generous scholarship donors could not be more proud to have honored their hard work. These young women are wonderful models of the Y’s mission and I know they will continue to positively impact their communities as they move forward on their journeys,“ said Megan Vaughn.

About the YWCA awards program

In 1985 YWCA created an awards program to recognize young women for their volunteer community service and leadership. Since then, YWCA has honored nearly 230 students from Clark County high schools for their efforts to build a stronger, healthier and more vibrant community. Click here to view more photos from the event.

No comments:

Post a Comment